New Zealand is the spiritual home of Adventure racing. The New Zealand A1 National Series is the strongest in the world and for 2024/25 there are four races spread across the North and South Islands.

The Kaikoura Adventure Race presented by Tane Cambridge and Tim Farrant will kick off proceedings in April with a 48 hour race for the first time. This will be followed by the Rangitikei Race in May, run by RD Kym Skerman. After the winter break the series moves to the North Islandfor the Matt Leash creation – Marakopa Munter in November.

The final race of the series is the True West 48 hour Adventure Race, with a new date of February 2025. It will double as the final race of the 2024 series and race 1 of the 2025 series. Hosted by one of the world’s most accomplished adventure racers, 7 x world champion Nathan Fa’ave, True West is the ultimate test of a team’s skill and endurance. With the pedigree of local racing teams, the NZ A1 National Series is certain to be a hard fought affair.

The series champion receives a free entry to the Oceania World Cup, Raid 100, to be held in Australia in May 2025. Teams of 4 person mixed use their best three results across the series*.

*note – no more than 7 different athletes can participate in any one team across races within the series to be considered for the prize.

Kaikoura Adventure Race

First: Team Gearshop

Second: Further Faster

Third: Devold

Fourth: Em’s Power Cookies

Fifth: Sardine Racing

Rangitikei Adventure Race

First: Nelson Vets

Second: Random Velocity

Third: Trial an Error

Fourth: Antiques Roadshow

Fifth: Trek n Travel

Marokopa Munter

True West