Adventure 1 (A1) is a series of premier adventure races from around the globe culminating in the A1 World Cup Final and Expedition Racing World Championships. A1 races include events across the Americas, Asia, Europe, Africa and Oceania. Races are typically anywhere from 24 hours long to multiday expedition length events. Each A1 country has it’s own national series, crowning a national champion, with a select number of events qualifying as World Cup races on each subcontinent.

A1 is sanctioned by World Obstacle (WO) as the official international adventure racing series. World Obstacle is the working name for the Federation Internationale de Sports D’Obstacles (FISO) which is a member of SportAccord – an important step in the recognition of obstacle events as an official sport including developing towards their inclusion in the Olympics. WO is responsible for the governance of the sports of Obstacle Course Racing (OCR), Ninja and Adventure Racing (AR).

According with standard sporting structures, the Adventure 1 Series include:

  • Adventure 1 National Series. Each country hosts a series of adventure races typically 24-48 hours in length (but may run longer or shorter) where teams compete regularly for a national ranking.
  • Adventure 1 National Championship. An annual national championship race is held in every A1 member country to crown a national champion.
  • Adventure 1 World Cup. A series of premier longer format adventure races on each subcontinent including the Americas, Asia, Europe, Africa and Oceania.
  • Adventure 1 World Cup Final. The culmination of the A1 national series, national championship and world cup events.